Pies & Bass – Bexxie’s Food and Music Blog

Vegan Cupcakes

Posted in cakes and cupcakes, dessert, vegatarian by Bexxie on May 31, 2010

I really missed my old food processor that I used when we lived in the UK for mixing dough, batter, frosting, etc. So I had mentioned to my husband that at some point when we had extra cash or for Christmas or something, I’d like to get a Kitchen Aid mixer. To my surprise, he had found a 4 1/2 qt white Kitchen Aid stand mixer from a local pawn shop for $150. What’s even more amazing about it was that it was never used! I’m not really sure why there was a KA mixer at a pawn shop, but I’m not gonna ask questions!

Here it is in all its white glossy glory:

White Kitchen Aid Mixer

White Kitchen Aid Mixer

Yesterday, I finally got back into the baking mood and wanted to try out the mixer. I bought “Vegan Cupcakes Takeover the World” ages ago and really wanted to try the basic vanilla cupcake recipe. Oh man, are these good! I think I prefer them to regular cupcakes. They’re so spongy and light as opposed to other cupcake recipes that I found to be quite heavy and dense. And the vegan buttercream frosting is super fluffy! The mixer blended the batter and frosting perfectly. No wonder people are always raving about these! I can’t wait to try more vegan cupcake recipes and use my new mixer!

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes
Source:“Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero published by Marlowe & Company 2006

Ingredients:
1 cup of soy milk
1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar
1 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup non-hydrogenated margarine (I use Earth Balance)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line muffin pan with cupcake liners.
2. Whisk the soy milk and apple cider vinegar in a measuring cup and set aside a few minutes to get good and curdled.
3. Sift the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda and salt into a large bowl and mix.
4. Cream the margarine and sugar together with a handheld or stand mixer for about 2 minutes until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla. Then, alternate beating soy milk mixture and dry ingredients, stopping to scrape the sides of the bowl a few times.
5. Fill cupcake liners two thirds of the way and bake for 20-22 minutes till done. Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool completely before frosting. Makes 12 cupcakes.

I used a mini cupcake tin so I adjusted the temperature to 325 and baked them for 18-20 minutes. Also I found that if using mini cupcakes, that its better to use a non-stick baking spray like Pam in the cupcake tin rather than using the liners. The mini cupcakes tended to stick to the liners.

Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting
Source:“Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero published by Marlowe & Company 2006

Ingredients:
1/2 cup nonhydrogenated shortening (I found one called Spectrum Naturals, which was also organic)
1/2 cup nonhydrogenated margarine (Again, Earth Balance)
3 1/2 cups of confectioner’s sugar (I ended up using about 4 cups. I probably could have used more to get and even stiffer consistency)
1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1/4 cup of plain soy milk or soy creamer

Directions:
Beat the shortening and margarine together until well combined and fluffy. Add the sugar and beat for about 3 more minutes. Add the vanilla and soy milk, beat for another 5 to 7 minutes until fluffy. Add food coloring if desired and mix well.

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nosmo said, on April 20, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Hey, I tried these out today and they are superb, as well as easy to make.
    We have a vegetarian guest for the next few weeks and I have been looking for a few REALLY good recipes, and this is certainly one.

    Thanks.

  2. Reetu said, on March 13, 2012 at 4:43 am

    What is an alternate of margarine? Pl
    ease let me know.

  3. smartiepants said, on June 21, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    can sub coconut oil for margarine

  4. Yuri Ceretti said, on November 6, 2012 at 1:36 am

    There are so many kitchen aids that we can choose from. i always prefer to use stainless steel kitchen aids. .

    My very own web-site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

  5. [...] Recipe Courtesy of Pies & Bass. http://piesandbass.wordpress.com/2010/05/31/vegan-cupcakes/ [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

