Pies & Bass – Bexxie’s Food and Music Blog

Black Bean & Corn Enchiladas

Posted in entree, music, vegatarian by Bexxie on January 30, 2010

So I’ve been on a vegetarian kick lately (you couldn’t really tell from my last post though!), trying to turn all my fave dishes into veggie versions. I love enchiladas so I thought I would try a black bean and corn version. It’s really simple and easy to make.

Black Bean & Corn Enchiladas

Black Bean & Corn Enchiladas

Black Bean & Corn Enchiladas
Source: Myself

Ingredients:
1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can of corn, drained and rinsed
1 can of diced tomatoes, drained
1 onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup of vegetable stock
1 teaspoon of cumin
salt & pepper to taste
1/4 teaspoon of ground red pepper
8 flour tortillas (we used whole wheat)
1 cup of mexican-blend cheeses

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Put some vegetable oil in pan on medium-high heat. Saute the garlic and onions for about a minute. Add the black beans, corn, diced tomatoes, vegetable stock and spices. You can add more red pepper depending how spicy you want it. Let the enchilada filling simmer for about 10 minutes covered on medium heat letting the tomatoes break down. If the stock hasn’t boiled down yet, then let simmer for another 5 minutes uncovered.

Add about 1/2 of the cheese into the mixture. Then spoon the mixture into tortillas (I like to microwave them for 30 seconds before using as it makes them easier to work with), roll up and add to an oiled baking dish. Top with remaining cheese. You can also top with salsa or your fave enchilada sauce and then cheese. I forgot to do this when I made it but they were still good!

Put this dish in the oven and bake until cheese has melted about 5 minutes. Serve with sour cream and pico de gallo or salsa.

Black Bean Enchiladas

Black Bean Enchiladas

And now here is some music to go with the food…

I’ve been listening to Iron and Wine a lot lately. My husband got me into him since he’s really into modern folk, which seems to be pretty popular these days. I never though I would be into any sort of folk, but Iron and Wine combine soft, ethereal male vocals with classical guitar type strumming into some really catchy music. Watch this video for “Boy With a Coin.” Claps are the main driving percussion and it features beautiful Flamenco dancing.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ever said, on January 31, 2010 at 9:56 am

    perfect combination!

  2. sweetbird said, on January 31, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    1. These enchiladas look delicious – I can’t wait to for fresh corn!

    2. Thank you so much for the introduction to Iron and Wine – this music is right up my alley. I think I’ll be popping over to Amazon now to see if I can buy an album!

  3. Denise said, on February 1, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    This look wonderful, I will be making them. We are vegetarian and have a blog. We are having our first giveaway. If you add your post to ours you can enter to win. Thanks for sharing. Denise


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

