Pies & Bass – Bexxie’s Food and Music Blog

What to do with Rice Noodles – Part 2

Posted in asian, entree, music, soup by Bexxie on January 15, 2008

So I had to use up the last of my rice noodles and some chicken I had defrosted. So I decided to make Asian Chicken Noodle Soup. I wanted to make the sort of soup you get at Noodle Houses. I just love those sort of soups in the really big asian soup bowls that you slurp the noodles down with chopsticks.

I just sort of threw this one together as I did last time so the measurements are just estimates. Also, make sure to thinly slice up the chicken breast to ensure it cooks up quickly. Next time I will mess around with adding various other asian spices and veggies to this one when I have more time. I would have loved to use Enoki mushrooms if I could find them, but unfortunately my supermarket does not stock them. Feel free to add what veggies you like and mess around with the measurements to suit your tastes. Very healthy, filling and delicious!

asian chicken noodle soup

Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut up into thin slices
8 cups of chicken broth
1/2 cup (4 oz) of thin rice noodles
3/4 cup (6oz) of baby corn
6 green onions (green parts cut into 1 inch pieces, white parts cut into 1/4 inch pieces)
1 cup of bean sprouts
1 teaspoon of ground ginger

Directions:

Bring the 8 cups of chicken broth to a boil.

Throw in chicken, rice noodles, baby corn, green onions (reserving a couple tablespoons for garnish), bean sprouts and ground ginger.

Simmer for 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked through (no pink).

Ladle into bowls and put remaining green onions on top. Eat with a chopstick if preferred along with a spoon.

Serves 2-4 depending on how big your bowls are.

Now for some music…

I don’t have much to review today but I did buy a couple more albums off of iTunes this weekend. One of them was Kate Havnevik – Melankton. This album isn’t that new. It came out in 2005 but I’ve heard a lot of her stuff on Grey’s Anatomy and finally got around to buying it. She reminds me of Bjork a bit. Her voice and songs are so lush. Here is a video of one of my favorite songs. Its called “Unlike Me”

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MrsPresley said, on January 16, 2008 at 3:03 am

    mmmm… looks like a very comforting meal!

  2. JennDZ_The LeftoverQueen said, on January 21, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    That looks good. A great way to use up those leftovers! Hope you have a great trip back to the states!

    Welcome to The Foodie Blogroll!

  3. Aimei said, on February 2, 2008 at 2:29 am

    I was surprise that you are not a chinese, or an Asian..cos’ you cooked so many awesome asian dishes! Nice blog you have! :)

  4. MrsPresley said, on February 13, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    you haven’t posted in a while – miss reading your posts!

    you’ve been tagged! :)
    http://good-eats-n-sweet-treats.blogspot.com/2008/02/memememememememememe.html

  5. jeena said, on March 6, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Hi there my name is Jeena and I have started a food recipe forum that I thought you would like to join here Click here for food recipe forum

    I would love to see you on there to chat about food and cooking you can talk about anything you like and start your very own topics. :-)
    or see my main food recipe website Jeenas food recipe site

    Hope to see you soon

    Thanks

    Jeena x

  6. Annie said, on April 21, 2008 at 3:25 am

    Hey, you’ve won an award!

    http://anniecanhazcheezburger.blogspot.com/2008/04/award.html

  7. Jj said, on April 28, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    This looks wonderful and doesn’t even sound all that difficult to make, but looks like it was! :)

  8. Tracy said, on June 17, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Nice photo… the soup looks great.

  9. Just Cook It said, on September 5, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Lovely blog. Found you on the blogroll. The soup looks great.

  10. Tina said, on September 6, 2008 at 4:12 am

    I was just browsing foodie sites because, you know, I’m both hungry AND nosy at all times. I came across yours and I loved it! Why don’t you post anymore girl?!

  11. bredockveldaron@gmail.com said, on March 8, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Hello – Great site, just checking around some pages, it seems to be a really nice platform you are running here. I am presently using WordPress to run a few of my sites but trying to change one of them over to a platform similar to yours just for a tryout run. Anything in particular you would suggest about it?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

