Pies & Bass – Bexxie’s Food and Music Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Posted in baked goods, chocolate, dessert by Bexxie on January 10, 2008

Ok no clever title for this blog entry. I’m just not feeling very witty at the moment. It happens believe it or not! lol

Anyway, I finally reached that moment in my life that when I had leftover, overly ripe bananas, I actually made something with them instead of throwing them out like I usually do. And man, have I been missing out all these years! I pledge from this day forward to always use up my old bananas and make them into something yummy.

banana bread 1

I’m not sure who this Aunt Mary is, but whoever she is, she sure knows how to make a banana bread!

Aunt Mary’s Banana-Chocolate Chip Bread
Source:Allrecipes

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup shortening (I used butter)
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 bananas, mashed (I used 3 since thats how many I had and it seemed silly to use 2 and throw out the other one)
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice*

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, cream sugar and shortening (butter). Beat in eggs, vanilla, pumpkin spice and bananas until thoroughly blended.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture and stir just until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Spoon into a greased 9-in.x 5-in. x 3-in. loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for 60-70 minutes or until the bread tests done with a wooden pick.

Cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

*I added this to the recipe as I thought I would use it up and thought it would go great with this bread. Pumpkin pie spice consists of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice. If you don’t have it, a combination of whichever of these spices you have on hand will be fine.

banana bread 2

So somehow I ran across this band online called Paramore. For all I know they’re super famous and on MTV like a million times a day but I don’t have a tv and don’t listen to the radio so I have no clue. But I found that I couldn’t get their music out of my head…

I’m not usually into pop-punk stuff. I like my 70’s, 80’s and even early 90’s punk. None of this ridiculously clean, overly compressed, overly processed recordings you get nowadays. But man, this song is so darn catchy that I had to buy their album off of iTunes just so I could stop watching the video on youtube lol

They’re front woman Hayley has an amazing voice (and amazing hair!) and apparently her live singing sounds just like it does on the recording.

Check out Misery Business, the song I can’t seem to get out of my head…

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MrsPresley said, on January 16, 2008 at 3:06 am

    i love banana bread… and i love banana choc chip pancakes..but have never had choc chips in my banana bread… i bet it tastes great! :)

  2. Tarah said, on January 21, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Yum. Looks delicious. Banana Bread is one of my favorite things to bake.

    And really like the band Paramore. They’re music is pretty. I really like the singer. As well as her hair too xD

  3. renae said, on January 21, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Found you from TasteSpotting. This looks fantastic! I have bananas on my counter that I’m not going to eat just so I can make this bread! Turn brown now!

  4. JEP said, on January 22, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I always add pumpkin spice pwd to my banana bread, too! Choc chips is an ingredient addition I have never tried—delicious photo!

  5. Cindy said, on January 22, 2008 at 2:51 am

    I shall make it over the week!
    I love banana bread!

  6. Bexxie said, on January 22, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Renae – here’s hoping that your bananas turn brown quickly!

    JEP – you definitely need to try them with chocolate chips!

    Thanks for the comments everyone! :)

  7. Banana Bread Recipe said, on June 7, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Hey, I figured what to do with ripe bananas a year ago… :) and the best thing is, you cant miss, bread always turns out great. Thanks for this recipe, another one for the collection.

  8. Tracy said, on June 17, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Such a classic, I love this bread.

  9. Emily said, on August 23, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    The bread turned out amazing. Its the best banana bread I have ever tasted let alone made myself. Not too many ingredients – safe for improvisation – and it looks amazing and tastes fantastic. Im having two slices for dinner tonight!!

  10. Annie said, on September 15, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    I just made this last night, and is DELICIOUS. Thank you so much for the recipe!

  11. kat said, on November 20, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Thanks so much for the receipe!!! I brought a loaf to work and it was the biggest hit. People at work just beg me to bring it in all the time!! They just love love love it. it’s awesome. works every time!

  12. [...] Cred. – PiesandBass.wordpress.com [...]

  13. Banana Bread Recipe said, on January 16, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    You can never have enough banana bread or banana bread recipes!

    Thanks for this recipe, I will be trying it shortly :)

  14. kyla said, on January 31, 2009 at 1:06 am

    oh my god i’ve been craving banana bread for so long,
    and i came across this recipe and this picture makes it look SO AMAZING!!
    my bananas arent ripe yet, so i just put them in a bag with an apple,
    and im HOPING it works so i can make it tomorrow,
    another day would make it sooo much harder to wait for this, it looks incredible!
    thank you!!!!

  15. Shannon said, on December 16, 2010 at 3:59 am

    OMG. This is absolutely the best banana loaf ever. I’ve made it for my boyfriend (loves banana everything) and he said it’s the best banana bread he’s ever had hands down. I’ve also brought it to potlucks with great success I load it up with chocolate and sprinkle some brown sugar on top before baking to make a sweet crunchy crust. We actually had some just this evening! It stays moist for so long!

    Thanks so much for this recipe!!!!

  16. Bake for the Quake | gastrofork said, on April 7, 2011 at 7:44 am

    [...] (Photo taken from Pies and Bass) [...]

  17. Lori said, on April 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    You can freeze them too and make ice cream out of them- its delicious. You can also freeze them and use them at a later time to make your banana bread.

  18. Jen said, on September 25, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Nice recipe,

    I was going to make the below version but I think I will make this instead.

    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/delicious-banana-bread-recipe/

    Jen

  19. Whole House Water Filter System said, on January 5, 2012 at 7:32 am

    hello jumping in to say whats up, scottie also says hey and maybe we can get together this week

  20. CGA said, on September 26, 2012 at 2:23 am

    Just made it up included some nuts and it was delish, thanks!

  21. jellie1000 said, on November 7, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    Great!! I wanted this for my next b-day!! looks extraordinary!! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

